Tom Lahaye-Goffart: The Interview!

goffart

We are off to Belgium for this week’s young biathlete interview. Tom Lahaye-Goffart was born on the 4th of April 1996 in Liège. He has already competed in 2 Youth/Junior World Championships in Presque Isle and Obertilliach and achieved his best result of 16th in the Pursuit race last year. He currently lives in France.

Find Tom on Twitter: @TomLahaye
Like his Facebook Page: ‘Tom Lahaye-Goffart Biathlon’
Have a look at his website (in French): http://tomlahayegoffart.jimdo.com/

How does a Belgian become a biathlete? It’s not a very popular sport in Belgium. How did you discover it and why did you want to be a biathlete?

My father introduced biathlon in Belgium in 1999 so when I was a baby I travelled a lot with him because he went to lot of World Cups. So I have been in the “biathlon family” for many years. I have been on skis since I was 2 years old, I skied a lot when I lived in Belgium and when we went to France I had the opportunity to try biathlon, I really liked to shoot so I decided to do biathlon. Of course it’s not a famous sport in Belgium but never mind, it’s not so important!

How do you balance training and competing with your education and social life? Are there things you would like to do but can’t because of training?

First of all you have to know that I’m in a special school in France, there is a mix between Sport and Studies, we do our baccalaureat (The french final exam) in 4 years when a normal student does it in 3 years, in return we have free weeks to train during the winter (Approximately 15 weeks) so we aren’t often at school during winter. Moreover, on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday we have the afternoon free for training.

It’s quite hard to have a social life outside of biathlon because we don’t have the same life as others guys, some of them don’t understand why we make so many sacrifices just to be at the Olympics Games or on a podium.. But we have a social life in biathlon, I have some friends in Norway, Netherlands, Russia etc…

Of course we would like to party sometimes but we can’t because of training but it’s a choice, a way of life. Nobody forces us to do that but we know that if we party we can’t be strong on skis.

Do you receive any funding? If not how do you pay for equipment, travel etc?

I don’t receive any funding but I’m searching for that, I need financial help because now, with international races, it’s very expensive, of course the Belgian federation pays for travelling for International races but at national level I have to pay my club affiliation, training, munitions and lot of other things.. So if anyone is interested in helping a young Belgian athlete, contact me!

Will you be competing in Raubichi in the World Youth/Junior Championships? What is the selection criteria for your country?

Yes of course, I’ll take part in the Youth World Championships in Raubichi, actually it’s my main goal of the season, I focused my training to be the best there.

I don’t have any criteria to be selected for the races, that’s one of the advantages to being Belgian. I see my French teammates who must be very good in selection races and have to be focused on 2 goals (selections and championships) when I just have to be focused on Championships, that’s a chance for me!

Unfortunately for Tom after this interview took place he suffered an injury. He has compartment syndrome in his leg and his season is over so he won’t be competing in Raubichi. 😦

If you could steal one characteristic from another biathlete, what would it be, who from and why?

Hmmmm that’s hard to answer.. I think that I want the mental strength of Emil Svendsen. He has the ability to improve his level during important races, that’s amazing!

What would you like to change about biathlon? (the rules, equipment, schedule etc).

One of my wishes is to avoid rifle weight control, I don’t like the 3.5 kgs rule, I don’t know why they made this rule. I think it’s an obstacle to development..

Who is your role model? (in biathlon or in general)

I have really liked Ole Einar Bjoerndalen since I was young, his longevity, his skiing style, he is very charismatic and it’s a very good example for young athletes!

What is your typical day like?

I have 2 types of days, the first is the school day: We have courses from 8h to 13h and we have training during the afternoon, we come back at 17h, then we eat at 18h40, and finally we must study 1h before going to sleep.

The second example is the training day: I wake up at 8h, I eat, and I go to the stadium near my home at 9h, I do biathlon training. I come back home, I eat and I have a little sleep to recover. Near 15h30 I go to the second training, it’s often a low pace training, like classic skiing or running. Then I come back home, eat and sleep.

Michael Roesch has recently become Belgian! How big a difference does this make to the sport in Belgium and how do you think it will help you?

Yeah it’s a very good thing for us, he came with some sponsors (One Way, Fischer,…) and a new lifestyle, more professional. He has lot of experience and it’s really good for us, I often text with him and I like his way of thinking. I hope that he will take part in the Olympics Games because he made lot of sacrifices to be back in World Cup, it shows his love for biathlon and he’s a good example for us! So I hope the best for him!

Does your rifle have a name?

Ahaha good question! No, my rifle doesn’t have a name yet, maybe later..

Quick fire Questions:

Favourite biathlon track: I didn’t race on lot of tracks but I liked Presque Isle’s track

Favourite biathlete (past or present): Ole Einar Bjoerndalen

Favourite event (sprint, pursuit etc): Mass Start

Favourite/best race of your career so far? Pursuit in Presque Isle, and City Biathlon in Püttlingen

Favourite film: Shutter island, Inception, Limitless

Favourite sports team: Oméga Pharma Quick-Step Cycling Team

Follow @biathlon23 on Twitter! Like biathlon23 on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

