Jean Guillaume Beatrix: The Interview!

beatrix

French biathlete Jean Guillaume Beatrix was born on the 24th of March 1988. He was World Junior Champion in the Individual in 2008 and he won a bronze medal at the Olympic Games in Sochi 2014 in the Pursuit. He has 4 World Championship medals, 3 silver and 1 bronze, all from the Relays with his French teammates. He is also a member of the biathlon band!

You can like Jean Guillaume’s Facebook Page: Jean-Guillaume Beatrix (Sportsperson)

Your name contains the word “beat” so obviously it was your destiny to become a musician! Why did you ignore that destiny and become a biathlete instead?

I’m actually a sportsman because I failed to be a musician! I used to dream about being a rock star, and used to play music when I was in my early teens. But I had to admit that I didn’t have much talent for that.

You won the Bronze medal in Sochi in the Pursuit. How did that feel? Did you have a feeling before the race that you could get a medal? Do you wear it a lot around the house! 😉

I remember that I was in top shape during the Olympic Games, and confident in the shooting. But I didn’t have any feeling about the result or medal before the race.
Now the medal is in a box, I tend to forget it.

You also won 2 silver medals in the Relays at the World Championships in Kontiolahti. However your form individually probably wasn’t what you were hoping for. Have you learned anything from that in preparation for the World Champs in Oslo?

Being in good shape in March is a real challenge for me. For sure I had to change several things in my preparation and let’s see if I made the correct choices.

Your top result on the World Cup is 2nd. What do you need to do to convert that into a win? Are you missing a bit of luck or is there anything mentally that you need to change?

I don’t consider myself “unlucky”, I’ve just never been the strongest so far! My opponents are very strong, so I have to be perfect if I want to have a chance to win a race. That’s a big challenge and it gives me a lot of motivation.

You took part in the first official Single Mixed Relay. What do you think of the format and do you think it’s a good addition to the biathlon programme?

That was very interesting, I’m really happy and proud to take part in this race. I think it can bring a kind of “game” to biathlon, but I don’t want the classic races to disappear.

What training have you done so far this summer and what’s the plan until the start of the season?

Everything is right, following the plan. Great details!Thanks! 😉

You have said that you eat sugary cereal for breakfast in an IBU video which makes me very worried for the health of your teeth!! What do you normally eat when you are training and does that change on race day?

My breakfast is nearly always the same during the race days, I just have a bit less appetite. And that’s true, I must be careful about my teeth because I’m a real sugar addict.

What are your strengths as a biathlete and what are your weaknesses? Do you have anything that you specifically want to improve before next season?

I’d like to improve my shooting statistics, it’s really important! I’m usually strong on the track in December and January, I’d like to keep this good shape until March and it should be a nice winter.

You won the biathlon23 Award for Nicest Person in Biathlon mainly for your reaction to the “Pokljuka Incident”. Is it hard to control your emotions in situations like that or are you quite calm? Did you go back to the hotel and smash your guitar in secret?!!!

Actually I don’t respect people who get angry and lose control of themselves in hard or unfair situations. That’s very important for my self-esteem to stay calm, so you’ll never see me breaking anything because I’m angry. I’m honored to win that award, especially because many biathletes deserve it.

You are a member of the biathlon band with Lowell Bailey and Gabriela Soukalova. Do you enjoy doing that? Is it a nice distraction from racing? When do we get to hear you sing? 🙂

I’m very lucky to play music with them, I enjoy it very much. It’s a perfect distraction and I hope that we will continue. But I don’t have the level to sing, sorry…

Does your rifle have a name?

When I was a teenager, my rifle’s name was “Charlene”, just like the soldier in Full Metal Jacket. Fortunately, since then I’ve become mentally sane 🙂 so now my rifle has no name.

Describe yourself in three words.

Curious, itinerant, phlegmatic

Quick fire Questions:

Favourite biathlon track: Antholz
Favourite biathlete (past or present): Evgeny Ustyugov
Favourite event (sprint, pursuit etc): Mass start
Favourite/best race of your career so far? Mass start in Pokljuka
Favourite food: Haribo!
Favourite singer/band: Lowell and Gabriela
Favourite film: Kubrick’s films
Favourite sports team: The Czech girls biathlon team!
Favourite TV show: I never watch TV.

Follow @biathlon23 on Twitter! Like biathlon23 on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

