Lena Häcki: The Interview!

haecki16

Lena Häcki is a Swiss biathlete who was born in Engelberg on the 1st of July 1995. She recently took part in the Youth/Junior World Championships in Cheile Gradistei where she won 2 silver medals in the Sprint and Pursuit races. She also competes on the World Cup for Switzerland and her career best result so far was 12th in the Sprint race in Antholz in 2015. She competed in the Senior World Championships held in Kontiolahti in 2015 and her best result there was 28th in the Sprint.

You can like Lena’s Facebook page: Lena Häcki (Sportsperson)
You can look at her website: http://www.lenahaecki.ch/

You won 2 silver medals in Cheile Gradistei. Can you describe how it felt to win those medals?

It was an amazing and incredible feeling. For me it was like a miracle.

What do you remember about the races? Can you describe them?

I felt very good on the track, and the shooting was okay, I liked the track very much, it was a hard track.

Did you set any goals before you went to Romania and did you achieve them?

I hoped for a medal, but it wasn’t really a goal, I just hoped that I could give my best and I did that.

You already compete on the World Cup and you competed in Kontiolahti at the World Championships. What are the main differences between those events and the Junior World Championships?

There is not much difference between these both, the Junior World Champs are very well organized, there are just other people there.

What are you plans for the rest of the season? What are your goals for next year?

My plans are just to make some good races and to show that I deserved to win those medals. Next season I want to compete in the World Cup and get some good points.

Why did you become a biathlete and why do you like the sport?

My trainer asked me one day if I wanted to try biathlon and I tried it and loved it so much. I continued to do it and still love it so much. For me it’s an amazing sport and I like it a lot because everyone has a chance, anyone can win or lose.

Do you combine sport with your education or are you concentrating only on biathlon at the present?

At the moment I am a maths student, I try to study maths but it is very hard and not easy to do both.

Does your rifle have a name?

Yes, my rifle is called Giorgio.

Describe yourself in three words.

Ambitious, kind, strong-willed.

Quick fire Questions:

Favourite biathlon track: Antholz
Favourite biathlete (past or present): Ole Einar Björdalen
Favourite event (sprint, pursuit etc): Sprint
Favourite/best race of your career so far?: My 12th place in the Sprint in Antholz 2015
Favourite food: Swiss food
Favourite film: A Walk to Remember
Favourite sports team: The Swiss biathlon team 😉
Favourite TV show: How I Met Your Mother

Follow @biathlon23 on Twitter! Like biathlon23 on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

