Karoline Erdal: The Interview!

erdal16

Karoline Erdal is a Norwegian biathlete who was born in Förde on the 15th of November 1997. She skis for her hometown club Förde IL. She recently took part in the Youth/Junior World Championships in Cheile Gradistei where she won gold in the Youth Women’s Sprint race and bronze in the Youth Women’s Relay with teammates Kristina Skjevdal and Emilie Kalkenberg. Her brother Ole Martin Erdal is also a biathlete.

You can follow Karoline on Twitter: @Karolineerdal

You won a gold and a bronze medal in Cheile Gradistei. Can you describe how it felt to win those medals?

The feeling was amazing! I was really satisfied with the races and I felt my shape was good.

What do you remember about the races? Can you describe them?

The Sprint was the individual race I was looking forward to competing in. I knew my shape was good and with good shooting, it would be a good race. I started as number two, and the minutes after I crossed the finish line waiting for the other competitors was really thrilling. But I made it, and I was so happy!

The relay was really hard. My legs were a bit heavy, but I was determined to give it all in the last race. My teammate, Emilie, exchanged as number six, and I knew I had to give it all on the track. The shooting was pretty good and I managed to take the team up to third place. I am really proud of my team and everyone did a great job!

Did you have any goals before you went to Romania and did you achieve them?

I had a goal to take an individual medal and perform four good races where I was satisfied with my own performance. I think I achieved them, and I have learned so much from this trip.

Norway has a lot of biathletes. How were you selected for the YJWCH? Did you have selection races?

The competition in Norway is pretty strong, that means that a ticket to YJWCH is a big achievement. We had four competitions that counted for the selection. Out of these four, we could stroke one competition, which means that only three of them count. The competition was really hard!

How did you prepare for the Championships?

I prepared like I would do for normal races in Norway. Having good training sessions with good focus and keep myself free from illness.

What are your goals for the future?

My goals for the future are to make progress every year, and eventually compete on the IBU and World Cup. For next season the goal is the YJWCH!

Why did you become a biathlete and why do you like the sport?

I became a biathlete mostly because of my family. We have always been an active family, and my father competed in biathlon before. When my brother started as a biathlete I wanted to try it myself, and I loved it! He is a big inspiration to me.
I like the sport because of the constant excitement and the combination between skiing and shooting. Nothing is decided before the athlete crosses the finish line.

Do you combine sport with your education or are you concentrating only on biathlon at the present?

At the present I am living in Geilo and going to high school where I combine school and biathlon.

Does your rifle have a name?

My rifle has no name.

Describe yourself in three words.

Kind, stubborn and strong-willed.

Quick fire Questions:

Favourite biathlon track:
Holmenkollen
Favourite biathlete (past or present): Tarjei Boe
Favourite event (sprint, pursuit etc): Sprint or Mass Start
Favourite/best race of your career so far? Sprint YJWCH 2016
Favourite food: Taco and steak
Favourite film: Fast and Furious 7
Favourite sports team: The Norwegian biathlon team!
Favourite TV show: Prison Break at the moment!

Follow @biathlon23 on Twitter! Like biathlon23 on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

