Benedikt Doll: The Interview!

doll

Benedikt Doll is a German biathlete who was born on the 24th of March 1990 in Titisee-Neustadt. He made his international debut in 2008. He has won medals at every level in the World, Open European and Youth/Junior World Championships. Last season he achieved his personal best result of 2nd on the World Cup and finished the season with a career high 8th in the Total Score.

He has his own website: http://www.benedikt-doll.de/
You can like his Facebook Page: Benedikt Doll

Why did you become a biathlete?

Skiing is very popular in our region. I became a biathlete because of the kids training at our local skiing club.

You were 8th last season in the Total Score. Did that surprise you?

It was really crazy, with the last race in Russia I went three places up in the total ranking. That’s why I was really lucky with the “last minute” top ten ranking. My target before the season was to reach the top ten in the season overall. So I was really happy but not totally surprised.

Your best result last season was second in the Canmore Mass Start. That was a crazy race. Can you describe it?

We had a lot of wind and it became really difficult to shoot clean. With four mistakes overall I was really happy. When I left the shooting range after the last shooting, I knew I had to risk everything to reach the podium. And in the end it worked, but have I never had such a hard race.

German biathletes get 2 home races. Do you feel a lot of pressure when you are competing in Oberhof and Ruhpolding? Do you like one more than the other?

I really like to race in Oberhof. I like the way the stadium is built. For me there isn’t more pressure than at other World Cup stages.

What are your goals for this season?

I have never reached first place in a World Cup race, so maybe this year…

What are your strengths and weaknesses?

I’m really strong at skiing, but at the shooting range there are still some things I need to learn.

What kind of food do you eat when you are training and competing?

Some hours before the competition starts, it’s really important to eat something which is a “light food”, with less fat and some sugar. After the race you need some carbohydrates and proteins really fast, that’s why we drink recovery shakes.

Do you have a favourite biathlon track? Which is it and why?

As I already said, Oberhof is a nice stadium and also the tracks are very difficult and I like difficult tracks.

Does your rifle have a name?

No, it’s a rifle 😉

Describe yourself in three words.

Persistent, positive, funny.

Quickfire Questions:

Favourite rifle design(any biathlete): Christoph Stephan
Favourite ski suit design (from any nation): Kazakhstan
Favourite shooting range: Antholz
Lucky bib number: 1 to 99 (That includes 23!)
Funniest biathlete on the World/IBU Cup: Tiril Eckhoff
Best thing about being a biathlete: It’s never boring.

Follow @biathlon23 on Twitter! Like biathlon23 on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

