Natalie Wilkie: The Interview!

Natalie Wilkie is a para biathlete and cross country skier from Salmon Arm, British Colombia in Canada. The 23-year-old competes in the standing category after losing four fingers on her left hand in a woodwork accident at school in 2016. Wilkie is a three time Paralmpic gold medallist in cross country skiing and a double biathlon World Champion. She will defend her Sprint and Individual titles from Ostersund 2023 at her home World Championship in Prince George in March.

You can follow Natalie on Instagram: natalie_wilkie_

Why did you become a biathlete?

I got started in biathlon shortly after my first Paralympics with the Canadian team, because it looked like a fun sport and a lot of my teammates were doing it. The coach offered me a rifle to try out, and I practiced shooting whenever I could. Even though it took me a while to learn the ropes, I’m very glad that I get to be a biathlete now!

It has been a strange season just starting in February. How have you found it? Did you have to make any changes to your preparation?

This season has been very different than usual, and I did make adjustments to my preparation. Since there were no Para races for most of December and January, I instead followed the North American race circuit with competitions in Sovereign Lake, Anchorage, and Mont-Saint Anne. I was very excited to begin the Para nordic season in Italy, and I thoroughly enjoyed exploring and skiing in each venue. Although it was fun to have a tour-style World Cup, I have to admit, I do prefer the regular calendar with 3-4 separate competitions throughout the winter.

How was your season start in biathlon? I saw you got sick but still managed a podium.

I unfortunately caught a cold just before the first race in Toblach, so I had to sit out a few days to recover. My first xc races back I won a silver and a bronze medal, but in all honesty I should have taken more time off because I didn’t feel 100% healthy. The following week in Martell I began to feel more like myself, and I won my first biathlon medal of the season in the 10km! I wasn’t expecting a podium, and during the race it came as a surprise when my coach started giving me splits that I was in 3rd place. I knew I wasn’t shooting quickly, so my focus was on accuracy, and also skiing the heck out of my last lap. I think I made up 30 seconds on the last lap. I hope that I can keep this momentum going and build into the World Championships in Prince George.

Are you excited about your home World Championships in Prince George? Do you have any goals for the competitions?

Yes, I’m very excited for a home competition! The last time I raced in Prince George was in 2019, and I remember the awesome atmosphere the volunteers and spectators created. It was special to race in front of so many Canadians, especially my family who came to watch and cheer. My goals for this upcoming competition are to race my absolute hardest for Canada, and finish every race knowing that I gave 100% of my effort. I think a podium (or a few) would also be pretty cool!

What are your impressions of the new Sprint/Pursuit race? Do you like racing head to head?

The new Sprint/Pursuit race is definitely exciting, especially for spectators, but I wouldn’t say it’s my favourite event! I like mass starts but I find it difficult to shoot quickly enough for this event. I’ve only done this race once, so maybe I’ll have more fun the next time.

How did you find the transition from cross country to biathlon and was it difficult learning to shoot?

I found the transition to biathlon to be longer than I expected, as it took me quite a while to feel confident in the range. It was really hard for me to switch my focus during a race from skiing to shooting. I’m very glad that I become a biathlete though, because it adds a fun, exciting dimension to racing.

Is it hard to manage both sports and choose which races to take part in as the schedules can be pretty heavy?

Yes, it can be hard to balance both cross country and biathlon. Because a Para World Cup is so race heavy, I usually try to skip one race to manage the load. It’s hard because I just want to race everything!

You are lucky to have Brittany Hudak as a teammate in the standing class. How has she helped you with your biathlon?

I feel like Brittany has always been a bit of a mentor to me in biathlon! When I joined the team, Brittany was already an established biathlete, and you could say I wanted to follow in her footsteps. It’s great having a teammate and friend who I can always turn to for advice and support.

Do you have a favourite race from your career so far in biathlon or a special memory?

My favourite biathlon race (or at least one of them) is the 7.5km sprint I did at the World Cup in Vuokatti last year. I hold that memory close to me because it was the first biathlon race I won, and even more importantly, it was the first race where I felt confident in the range! I have a habit of shooting slowly when I’m nervous, but the night before the race my coach convinced me to shoot just a tiny bit faster than I was comfortable with. Safe to say, that strategy worked! I still get nervous to shoot, but I know that I can trust my training and be confident in my abilities.

What are your hobbies? How do you switch off from biathlon?

My favourite hobbies are painting, playing the piano and spending time with other people’s dogs haha. I usually bring my art supplies with me on race trips, so that I can relax and focus on another activity. I’ve also started to make friendship bracelets with my teammates, which is super fun! At the end of the season, the best way for me to switch off my biathlon and skiing brain is to spend time at my family’s farm, where I hang out with my dogs and ride my horses.

Does your rifle have a name?

Haha no, my rifle does not have a name (yet).

Describe yourself in three words.

Determined, resilient, and fun-loving!

Quick fire Questions:

Favourite biathlon event (sprint, individual etc): I like the individual event the best!

Favourite biathlon venue: My favourite biathlon venue is Östersund

Favourite biathlete: Derek Zaplotinsky

Nicest biathlete on the World Cup: Christina Picton

Funniest biathlete on the World Cup: Brittany Hudak

Best thing about being a biathlete: Traveling through airports with my rifle!

The Para biathlon World Champions take place from the 6th to the 10th of March with the Sprint, Sprint/Pursuit, Individual and Team Sprint titles up for grabs.

Follow biathlon23 on X (Twitter), Facebook and Instagram!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.