Blagoy Todev: The Interview!

Blagoy Todev is a Bulgarian biathlete from Bansko. He was born on the 6th of July 2001. Last season was a real breakthrough for him winning gold in the individual at the Junior European Championships in Pokljuka and silver in the pursuit at the Junior World Championships in Soldier Hollow. He represented his country at the Beijing Olympics and achieved his best result on the World Cup so far coming 40th in the sprint in Otepää.

Follow Blagoy on Instagram.

Why did you become a biathlete?

I started the sport against my will! I started cross-country skiing at the insistence of my sister and my grandmother. I was 9 years old when my sister (She is a year and a half older) started to practice cross-country skiing and after a while started telling me to try it too. For a long time I refused her and my grandmother, who told me to go so that my sister would not be alone. After all, a few months later I agreed so that they would not repeat the same thing to me and after the first training I fell in love with the sport. Two and a half years later, I was absolute champion of Bulgaria in all disciplines for my age, but my coach had to retire. Then, at his insistence, I took the path of biathlon, because he had seen talent in me and did not want me to stop developing it.

Last season was amazing for you! Do you have a favorite moment?

A World Championship medal is something I’ve craved and craved all summer season. It’s an unforgettable feeling!


But the whole season was amazing for me! I was happy with the results I did at the races before Christmas, but then I got sick and couldn’t train for about 10 days. I got very demotivated and I told myself that the season is over for me. One of my coaches talked to me for a long time and reassured me that the important races for me are just starting and that I should brace myself.


After the New Year, I managed to become the European champion, participated in the Olympic Games, won the first Crystal Globe in the history of Bulgarian biathlon, came 4th and 2nd at the World Championship and received an award in Bulgaria for athlete of the month of January. During the quarantine in Rupolding before the Olympics (more on this later) I found a girlfriend and after the end of the season, I fulfilled a dream by going to an Arsenal match in London (a 3-1 win against Man. Utd). Now I look positively and forward to new heights.

Your first Olympic Games were a bit different with all the restrictions and no crowds etc. What was the experience like for you?

The freakiest season! 😀 After I tested positive one day before the flight to Beijing, I did not believe at all that I would really stay in Europe. I believed that the coaches would figure something out and I would leave, but when they left I started to realize that I was really still in Europe 😀 I went to Rupolding where I made a training camp and trained at night to adapt to China. The day before I left for Milan, my phone broke and I was traveling without GPS, just following the signs. I got lost in Milan and after 2 hours of wandering around the city, I reached the airport. I landed in Beijing and gave an “unsatisfactory” result on the PCR test, which forced my isolation. A few hours after I arrived at the Olympic Village, I was told that it was a girl next to my seat who tested positive and they extended my isolation for 5 days, so for a total of 7 days I was isolated from everyone, a different changing room, not allowed to enter the restaurant for food and running with a mask in the Olympic village. The whole atmosphere was boring. Nothing interesting. There was no Olympic spirit at all.

Is it true that you sold your European gold medal for charity? What was the reason?

Yes, how do you know that? (Biathlon23 knows everything!)I put it up for auction along with 3 race numbers from the Olympics. The total amount of all things was about 12,500 euros. The cause was about a woman from my town who I didn’t know, but I found out she had cancer.
Before the Europeans, I found out about this case and it motivated me to fight hard for the cause I was thinking of doing.

What are your goals for this season?

We are currently in Ruhpolding for the Summer World Championships (this was in August) and I will be happy to do some decent results, but I don’t know if I will be able to fight for a medal, it would be great. My goals for the winter are to become World Champion in Kazakhstan and enter the top 30 of the World Cup.

You are having a dinner party with 3 other biathletes. Who would you invite and why? What’s on the menu?

Martin Fourcade, Dorothea Wierer and Johannes Bo. I want many more athletes from different sports to join, because they will have a lot to tell about themselves and their interesting stories. The menu doesn’t matter as long as there’s something to eat.

What are your hobbies?

I like to read different books and educate myself in different fields. I rarely play games, but if I’m going to play anything, it’s definitely going to be FIFA.

Do you have a favorite biathlon track? Where is it and why?

The track in Slovenia is one of my favorites. Not because I became a European champion there, but I just like the layout of the course. It is also a very beautiful place.

Who is your favourite biathlete (past or present) and why?

Martin Fourcade. In the winter I got an autograph and took a picture with him in Annecy, France. When I saw him I just swallowed my tongue, I didn’t know what to say, I just looked at him like a little kid.

Does your rifle have a name?

No, but I love my rifle a lot.

Describe yourself in three words.

Smiling, positive and motivated

What are your Top 10 favorite things?

Football, Biathlon, Friends, Music, YouTube, Books, Food, Crypto, Excursions, Gaming.

Follow biathlon23 on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.